New Orleans,
09:59 AM

Audubon Nature Institute and New Orleans Museum of Art Partner with Patrick F. Taylor Foundation to Expand Taylor Scholars Awards Program

Audubon Nature Institute and New Orleans Museum of Art are proud to partner with the Patrick F. Taylor Foundation to expand the Taylor Scholars Awards Program in 2021 to include sixth grade students for the first time. The addition of sixth grade will greatly impact the number of students that are recognized for their academic achievements.  

The Taylor Scholars Awards Program is a statewide program that rewards students in grades sixth through twelve with a GPA of 2.5 or higher with complimentary access to Audubon Aquarium of the Americas, Audubon Zoo, and New Orleans Museum of Art (NOMA).  

During the 2020-2021 academic year, more than 223,000 students from across the state have been recognized for academic excellence with a free Membership to Audubon Zoo, Audubon Aquarium of the Americas, and NOMA in New Orleans.  

"The Taylor Scholars Awards Program has been a bright spot for students during a particularly difficult year due to the COVID-19 pandemic,” said Audubon President and CEO Ron Forman. “Many Taylor Scholars have used their award to visit our attractions with friends, as a safe way to spend time together outdoors. Our hope is that, by encouraging students to visit Audubon Zoo or Aquarium, youth will continue to be inspired to protect and preserve the natural world for the better.” 

Taylor Scholars receive free admission, discounts, and special access for the Taylor Scholar and up to four guests on Taylor Family Free Day. In 2021, NOMA’s Taylor Family Free Day is May 22 and Audubon’s Taylor Family Free Day is June 4. 

"Art inspires and provides a window into other cultures and points of view. We are so grateful to the Patrick F. Taylor Foundation for helping to instill the love of art among young scholars, especially at such a critical time for our city," said Montine McDaniel Freeman Director Susan Taylor. "We look forward to welcoming teens to the museum for Taylor Family Free Day and the Teen Art Council's Teen Day in the Sydney and Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden on Saturday, May 22nd." 

Over the past two decades, more than 3.7 million awards have been distributed to students across the state. Participation in the program has grown steadily over the past two decades and more than 15,000 awards have been distributed this year than last year. 

Through the Taylor Scholars Awards Program, the Patrick F. Taylor Foundation strives to encourage young people to excel in the classroom. The Program was created to provide motivation and incentive to achieve this goal.  

“We are so thankful to be able to expand the Taylor Scholars Awards Program to include sixth grade during such a tough year,” said Chairman of the Patrick F. Taylor Foundation Phyllis M. Taylor. “We are proud to partner with Audubon Nature Institute and NOMA to encourage Louisiana students to do well in school and communicate the important message that learning does not stop at the classroom.” 

The Taylor Scholars Awards Program was created in partnership with the Patrick F. Taylor Foundation. A generous donation established the program and has allowed Audubon and NOMA to continue to recognize students across the state for their hard work.

Audubon Nature Institute

Audubon Nature Institute operates a family of museums, parks and research facilities dedicated to celebrating the wonders of nature. Through innovative live animal exhibits, education programs, and scientific discovery, Audubon makes a meaningful contribution to preserving wildlife for the future. Audubon Nature Institute flagships include Audubon Park, Audubon Zoo, Audubon Aquarium of the Americas, Entergy Giant Screen Theater, Audubon Butterfly Garden and Insectarium, Audubon Louisiana Nature Center, Freeport-McMoRan Audubon Species Survival Center, Woldenberg Riverfront Park and Audubon Wilderness Park. Ron Forman is President and CEO of Audubon Nature Institute.